Loading Events

This event has passed.

May Zen Circle

May 1 @ 7:00 am - May 26 @ 6:30 pm

Free

Dylan & Dogen:
Creativity and the Awakened Way

Join us this May for a Zen Circle as we explore the intersecting paths of 13th Century Japanese Zen Master Eihei Dogen and iconic musician Bob Dylan. Celebrated for their common spiritual journeys and profoundly poetic contributions by a contemporary generation of scholars, Zen teachers, and practitioners, both Dogen and Dylan have transcended the mere title of poets. They have been called visionaries, akin to acrobats, who have taken bold creative leaps to awaken and heal the world. Bob Dylan once remarked, “You don’t necessarily have to write to be a poet. Some people work in gas stations and they’re poets. I don’t call myself a poet, because I don’t like the word. I’m a trapeze artist.”

Our Zen Circle will peer into the creative wellsprings of these two luminaries, drawing inspiration from their lives and works to enrich our own creative practices. Perhaps we will discover the trapeze artist within all of us. We will listen to the insights of scholars, engage in discussions, and discover personal connections to these influential figures. This is an opportunity to immerse in a month of creativity, practice, and fostering deeper spiritual connections. Join us for a journey of inspiration and discovery, celebrating the artistic and spiritual legacies of Dogen and Dylan.

To join this Zen Circle, please send an email to programs@breadloafmountainzen.org

No lodging is available for this Zen Circle.

May 2024 Zen Circle Schedule

Wednesday, May 1, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
5:30 pm Dharma Talk by Sensei Joshin
7:30 pm Shuso Entering Ceremony

Thursday May 2, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
10:00 am Seminar
5:30 pm Zazen

Friday, May 3, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
10:00 am Tea with Shuso
5:30 pm Zazen

Saturday, May 4, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
5:30 pm Zazen

Sunday, May 5, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
10:00 am Creativity Practice

Monday, May 6, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
Personal Practice Day

Tuesday, May 7, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
Personal Practice Day

Wednesday, May 8, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
2:00 pm Tea with Shuso
5:30 pm Dharma Reflection by Peg Kendo Murray and Daigan Widell

Thursday May 9, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
12:00 pm Seminar
5:30 pm Zazen

Friday, May 10, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
5:30 pm Zazen

Saturday, May 11, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
5:30 pm Zazen

Sunday, May 12, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
Day of Reflection

Monday, May 13, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
Personal Practice Day

Tuesday, May 14, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
Personal Practice Day

Wednesday, May 15, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
5:30 pm Dharma Reflection by Eisho Sinclair and Daigan Widell

Thursday May 16, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
12:00 pm Seminar
5:30 pm Zazen

Friday, May 17, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
10:00 am Tea with Shuso
5:30 pm Zazen

Saturday, May 18, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
5:30 pm Zazen

Sunday, May 19, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
10:00 am Creativity Practice

Monday, May 20, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
Personal Practice Day

Tuesday, May 21, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
Personal Practice Day

Wednesday, May 22, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
5:30 pm Dharma Talk by Sensei Joshin Byrnes

Thursday May 23, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
12:00 pm Seminar
5:30 pm Zazen

Friday, May 24, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
5:30 pm Zazen

Saturday, May 25, 2024
7:00 am  Zazen
3:00 pm Jukai register here for the Zoom link to join us online.
7:00 pm Formal Susho Tea register here for the Zoom link to join us online.

We need to know how many to expect so if you plan to attend Jukai or Formal Shuso Tea in person, please send an email to Daigan@breadloafmountainzen.org.

Sunday, May 26, 2024
7:00 am Zazen
11:30 am Shuso Hossenshiki Ceremony and Dharma Encounter register here for the Zoom link to join us online.

We need to know how many to expect so if you plan to attend Shuso Hossenshiki in person, please send an email to Daigan@breadloafmountainzen.org.

Confirm your participation: RSVP

Bread Loaf Mountain Zen Community

3958 Route 30
Cornwall, VT 05753 United States